BREXIT

and the cross-border personnel deployment

– are you prepared?

BREXIT

and the cross-border personnel deployment – are you prepared?

The cross-border deployment of personnel in itself entails a multitude of issues and pitfalls. In principle, the relevant questions and issues concern social security, residence, tax and employment law.

In the case of a Brexit, this already highly complex matter can become even more complex due to the fact that the present “freedom of movement” may no longer exist in its current form. Possible effects and consequences in the areas of social security, residence, tax and employment law are, of course, subject to whether a Brexit occurs at all and, if so, the manner in which it occurs (keyword: “soft” or “hard” Brexit).

In the context of cross-border deployment, employers as well as employees should be aware of the potential consequences of the Brexit and should best take precautions beforehand, i. e. prior to 30 March 2019, to not be unprepared in the event of a “hard” Brexit.

Currently, it is widely discussed whether and, if so, which regulations will apply from 30 March 2019. A “hard” Brexit would have serious consequences for the deployment of workers to the United Kingdom and vice versa. In particular, it raises the question of how to deal with “old” and “new” deployments.

To give you an initial idea of the Brexit’s possible consequences for cross-border personnel deployment, we have prepared summaries for the individual relevant legal fields, which you can find below.

 

No worries, we keep your staff working.

Social Security Law

Within the framework of deployments within the EU – comprising the EU member states, Switzerland and the EEA states (Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway), which, as of right now, (still) includes the United Kingdom – Regulation (EC) 883/2004 applies. Its purpose is to coordinate the social security systems in the EU member states. Such a deployment requires the so-called A1 certificate. It serves as a certification that the activity within the context of the deployment is subject to the sending state’s social security legislation. Thus, if the deployment is made from Germany to the United Kingdom, German social security law applies, provided that the corresponding requirements are met. Inversely, the opposite applies in the case of a deployment from the United Kingdom to Germany.

Above all, a Brexit would affect social security law and the existing practice for cross-border deployment.
For instance, the above-mentioned Regulation (EC) 883/2004 contains specific provisions to ensure that employees remain in a particular social security system. Aside from the “classic” deployment, this concerns, in particular, so-called “multi-state workers”, i. e. the habitual employment of an employee in several EU member states (for example, in Germany and the United Kingdom).

In the event of a Brexit, various consequences are plausible, depending – among other things – on the form the Brexit takes. In the case of a “soft” Brexit, for example, Regulation (EC) 883/04 might still be applicable (e. g. by way of an agreement between the EU and the United Kingdom), with the result that, in principle, the status quo would remain unchanged.

In the case of a “hard” Brexit, however, Regulation (EC) 883/2004 would no longer apply. According to the prevailing German legal opinion, this would result in the Social Security Convention between the Federal Republic of Germany and the United Kingdom, dated 20/04/1960, to apply once more. Since the Convention does not cover all branches of social security and does not contain a provision for so-called “multi-state workers”, deployments would become much more complex and would require a careful assessment on a case-by-case basis.

Residence Law

In the event of a Brexit, aspects of residence law would also require special attention when it comes to deployments to or from the United Kingdom. The question of the employee’s nationality, for example, would be of vital importance. Is the employee a British national or an “EU citizen” (meaning citizen of the European Union, of a member state of the European Economic Area (EEA) or of Switzerland)? Depending on the answer, the employee may be regarded as a so-called “third-country national” within the meaning of residence law, which might require obtaining a visa or residence permit for cross-border personnel deployment.

Once again, the occurrence of a “soft” or a “hard” Brexit is the decisive factor here.

In the event of a “soft” Brexit, for example, it is possible that, in the future, the United Kingdom might become a member state of the EEA, which would result in no changes with regard to residence law. Another plausible scenario would be another form of association which would have no consequences under residence law either.

A “hard” Brexit, i. e. without any form of association, would be the worst case scenario from a residence law perspective. In this case, the United Kingdom would be treated as a “third country” under residence law. In this case, the freedom of movement for employees within the EU would no longer apply and one would have to examine the respective national legislation on residence and work permits. Depending on the employee’s nationality, it may become more difficult to obtain a residence permit, as third countries or third-country nationals are generally subject to higher requirements for visa and/or residence permits. The time aspect (longer duration for the application procedure for visa etc.) should not be disregarded either.

All this shows that residence law may play a much more important role in the future than it has so far and, as a result, these aspects need to be considered.

Tax Law

Labour and Employment Law

The Brexit may also have an impact with regard to employment and labour law aspects. A plausible scenario, for example, would be that the employer is based in the United Kingdom and requires a particular licence to operate on the European market, which might no longer be available after a “hard” Brexit.

One option could be a corresponding formulation of the employment contract which provides for the employee to be sent to a group company with registered office in an EU member state which still has the necessary licence, and for the employee to work or be able to work in EU member states on behalf of such group company.

In that regard, various contractual arrangements are conceivable. The residence, social security and tax law, according to which the employment contract should be drafted, need to be taken into account as well, of course.

NEWS

To find out about the latest information relating to the BREXIT and our other areas of expertise, please visit our Blog.

Contact

For further information please contact Mr Felix Müller (Rechtsanwalt).

BREXIT

und der grenzüberschreitende Personaleinsatz – Sind Sie vorbereitet?

Der grenzüberschreitende Personaleinsatz bringt schon für sich genommen eine Vielzahl an Fragestellungen und Fallstricken mit sich. Hierbei stellen sich grundsätzlich sozialversicherungs-, aufenthalts-, steuer- und arbeitsrechtliche Fragestellungen und Probleme.

Diese ohnehin schon hochkomplexe Materie kann im Falle des Brexit an Komplexität weiter zunehmen, da die bisherige „Freizügigkeit“, in dieser Form ggf. nicht mehr bestehen wird. Mögliche Auswirkungen und Folgen in den Bereichen des Sozialversicherungs-, Aufenthalts-, Steuer- und Arbeitsrechts sind selbstverständlich davon abhängig, ob es überhaupt zu einem Brexit kommt und falls ja, wie dieser erfolgen wird (Stichwort „weicher“ oder „harter“ Brexit).

Sowohl Arbeitgeber als auch Arbeitnehmer sollten sich im Rahmen von grenzüberschreitenden Entsendungen über die möglichen Folgen des Brexit bewusst sein und am besten im Vorfeld, d.h. vor dem 30. März 2019, Vorkehrungen treffen, um im Fall eines „harten“ Brexit nicht unvorbereitet zu sein.

Die Frage ob und welche Regelungen ab dem 30. März 2019 gelten werden, wird im Moment vielfach diskutiert. Ein „harter“ Brexit hätte gravierende Auswirkungen auf die Entsendung von Mitarbeitern in das Vereinigte Königreich und umgekehrt. Dabei stellt sich insbesondere die Frage, wie mit „alten“ und „neuen“ Entsendungen umzugehen ist.

Um Ihnen eine erste Orientierung zu geben, welche Auswirkungen der Brexit auf den grenzüberschreitenden Personaleinsatz haben kann, finden Sie die nachfolgende Übersicht bezüglich der einzelnen zu beachtenden Rechtsbereiche.

 

No worries, we keep your staff working.

Sozialversicherungsrecht

Im Rahmen von Entsendungen innerhalb der EU – davon umfasst sind die EU-Staaten, die Schweiz und die EWR-Staaten (Island, Liechtenstein und Norwegen) -, wozu aktuell (noch) das Vereinigte Königreich zählt, findet die Verordnung (EG) 883/2004 Anwendung. Diese dient der Koordinierung der Systeme der sozialen Sicherheit innerhalb der EU-Staaten. Im Rahmen einer Entsendung ist die sog. A1-Bescheinigung erforderlich. Diese dient als Bestätigung, dass für die Tätigkeit im Rahmen der Entsendung die Rechtsvorschriften über soziale Sicherheit des jeweiligen Entsendestaats Anwendung finden. Erfolgt demnach die Entsendung von Deutschland in das Vereinigte Königreich, so gelten – bei Vorliegen der Voraussetzungen – die deutschen Rechtsvorschriften über soziale Sicherheit weiter. Spiegelbildliches gilt auch im umgekehrten Fall einer Entsendung vom Vereinigten Königreich nach Deutschland.

Ein Brexit hätte insbesondere Auswirkungen auf das Sozialversicherungsrecht und die bisherige Praxis beim grenzüberschreitenden Personaleinsatz.

So enthält die eingangs erwähnte VO (EG) 883/2004  spezielle Regelungen, um den Verbleib in einem Sozialversicherungssystem zu gewährleisten. Dies betrifft neben der „klassischen“ Entsendung insbesondere den Fall des sog. „Mehrstaaters“, d.h. einer gewöhnlichen Erwerbstätigkeit eines Mitarbeiters in mehreren EU-Staaten (z.B. in Deutschland und dem Vereinigten Königreich).

Bei einem Brexit sind verschiedene Folgen denkbar, die u.a. davon abhängig sind, in welcher Form der Brexit erfolgt. So könnte bspw. bei einem „weichen“ Brexit die Verordnung (EG) 883/04 weiterhin Anwendung finden (z.B. durch eine Vereinbarung zwischen der EU und dem Vereinigten Königreich), womit im Grunde „alles beim Alten“ bliebe.

Im Falle eines „harten“ Brexit würde die Verordnung (EG) 883/2004 keine Anwendung mehr finden. Nach deutscher Rechtsauffassung würde in diesem Fall das Sozialversicherungsabkommen vom 20.04.1960 zwischen der Bundesrepublik Deutschland und dem Vereinigten Königreich wieder anzuwenden sein. Da hiervon u.a. nicht alle Sozialversicherungszweige umfasst sind und das Sozialversicherungsabkommen keine Regelung für den sog. „Mehrstaater“ vorsieht, würden Entsendungsfälle wesentlich komplexer werden und bedürften einer genauen Prüfung im jeweiligen Einzelfall.

Aufenthaltsrecht

Auch das Aufenthaltsrecht bedarf im Falle des Brexit besonderer Beachtung bei einer Entsendung in das Vereinigte Königreich oder von dort aus. Von entscheidender Bedeutung ist bspw. die Frage, über welche Staatsangehörigkeit der Mitarbeiter verfügt. Hat er bspw. die britische Staatsangehörigkeit inne oder ist er „EU-Bürger“ (damit sind Unionsbürger, Staatsangehörige eines Mitgliedstaates des Europäischen Wirtschaftsraumes (EWR) oder der Schweiz gemeint)? Abhängig von der Antwort ist der Mitarbeiter im aufenthaltsrechtlichen Sinne ggf. als sog. „Drittstaatsangehöriger“ anzusehen, wodurch ein Visum bzw. Aufenthaltstitel für den grenzüberschreitenden Personaleinsatz notwendig werden kann.

Auch hier ist wiederum entscheidend, ob es einen „weichen“ oder „harten“ Brexit geben wird.

Im Falle eines „weichen“ Brexit ist es bspw. denkbar, dass das Vereinigte Königreich zukünftig EWR-Mitglied sein wird, was im Hinblick auf das Aufenthaltsrecht keine Änderungen zur Folge hätte. Denkbar wäre weiterhin eine andere Assoziationsform, welche ebenfalls keine aufenthaltsrechtlichen Auswirkungen hätte.

Ein „harter“ Brexit, d.h. ohne Assoziationsform, wäre aus aufenthaltsrechtlicher Sicht der „worst case“. Denn in diesem Fall wäre das Vereinigte Königreich im Hinblick auf das Aufenthaltsrecht wie ein sog. „Drittstaat“ zu behandeln. Die EU-Freizügigkeit für Arbeitnehmer würde in diesem Fall keine Anwendung mehr finden und es wären jeweils die nationalen Rechtsvorschriften für die Erteilung einer Aufenthalts- und Arbeitserlaubnis zu prüfen. In Abhängigkeit von der Staatsangehörigkeit des Mitarbeiters dürfte es schwieriger werden einen Aufenthaltstitel zu erhalten, da bei Drittstaaten bzw. Drittstaatsangehörigen grundsätzlich höhere Anforderungen an die Erteilung eines Visums und/ oder Aufenthaltstitels gestellt werden. Auch der zeitliche Aspekt (längere Verfahrensdauer für die Beantragung eines Visums, etc.) darf nicht außer Acht gelassen werden.

All dies zeigt, dass das Aufenthaltsrecht zukünftig eine weitaus gewichtigere und zu bedenkende Rolle einnehmen kann als dies bisher der Fall war.

Steuerrecht

Arbeitsrecht

Auch in arbeitsrechtlicher Hinsicht können sich Auswirkungen durch den Brexit ergeben. Z.B. ist der Fall denkbar, dass der Arbeitgeber seinen Sitz im Vereinigten Königreich hat und für seine Tätigkeit auf dem europäischen Markt eine bestimmte Lizenz notwendig ist, die nach einem „harten“ Brexit nicht mehr gegeben ist.

Hier kann sich ggf. eine arbeitsvertragliche Gestaltung anbieten, wonach Mitarbeiter zu einer Konzerngesellschaft, die ihren Sitz in einem EU-Staat hat und somit (weiterhin) über die notwendige Lizenz verfügt, entsandt werden und der Mitarbeiter im Auftrag dieser Gesellschaft in den EU-Staaten tätig wird bzw. werden kann.

Hierbei sind verschiedene Gestaltungsoptionen denkbar. Selbstverständlich müssen dabei immer das Aufenthalts-, Sozialversicherungs- und Steuerrecht berücksichtigt werden, auf deren Basis die arbeitsrechtliche bzw. arbeitsvertragliche Ausgestaltung erfolgen sollte.

NEWS

Aktuelle Informationen zum Thema BREXIT und unseren weiteren Fachgebieten stellen wir Ihnen in unserem Blog zur Verfügung.

Ansprechpartner

Für weitere Informationen steht Ihnen Ihr Ansprechpartner Herr Rechtsanwalt Felix Müller gerne zur Verfügung.